When you're ready to share it with others to:
1. allow people to see & respond to its questions OR
2. allow people to collaborate & edit,
you must click **"Publish."**
In other words, even though it may not be ready to allow others to respond to it, in order to allow others to edit the Form, you must **Publish** it first. Basically **Publish** is synonymous for **Share,** it doesn't necessarily mean that others can see it.